Surf Team Rides Out its Season

By Alisa Cairns, Special to the Independent


Rookie of the year Shane Chapman. See more photos online. Photo by Jill Doran.

Despite surf that lacked much shape, the Laguna Beach High School surf team found ways to win during a scrimmage against Aliso Niguel at Salt Creek Beach last Friday.


The non-league event allowed a few additional surfers to get a chance to compete. Also the girls just had one heat and were able to choose whether to ride a shortboard or a longboard.


In the boys longboard, senior Dane Doran found a few nice stylish rides to finish second,  while Noah Garret took third while pulling off some helicopter spins. Freshman Toby Grierson took fifth. Altogether, the Laguna longboarders took the win.


Senior Dane Zarinelli tears up the face of a wave

In bodyboard, spins, rolls and cover-ups by Harrison Kirkman, Adam Redding Kaufman and Quinton Smith took fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively.


Among girls, Leah Pakpour rode her shortboard to first with some nice front and backside waves. Freshman Kirra Hamilton rode a longboard to finish second while Marlee Grousher rounded out the heat.


On shortboards, Austin Silvers, Blair Conklin and Wesley Olsen finished third, fourth and fifth, respectively, on one heat. In succeeding heats, freshman Shane Chapman won, while seniors Adam Mejia and Christen Menez took fourth and fifth; senior Dane Zarinelli took second, while Matt O’Brien and Zac Lebon took fourth and fifth; freshman Harrison Kirkman finished second, while Adam Redding Kaufman took third, and Willy Hogan took fourth despite being hit by his board with a big air attempt.


Sophmore Leah Pakpour

The final all freshman heat was dominated by Laguna; Cameron Zuziak had a beautiful barrel to take the win on his 15th birthday, as Mike Chapman took second and Danny Wyland fourth.


The post season began this week at Salt Creek.


At an awards banquet last week, scholar athletes with a 3.5 GPA and above were recognized. They are: Tyler Cassill, Blair Conklin, Cameron dePfyffer, Dane Doran, Tobie Grierson, Kira Hamilton, Willy Hogan, Wesley Olsen, Adam Redding-Kaufman, Schuylar Vanderveen, and Cameron Zuziak.


Laguna Beach High School 2011 Surf team

Other award winners: most valuable surfer, Dane Zerinelli; team captain, Adam Redding-Kaufman; coaches award, Leah Pakpour, Adam Mejia and Dane Doran; most improved, Blair Conklin; and rookies of the year, Shane Chapman and Willy Hogan.



Alisa Cairns coaches the surf team with Scott Finn.








About the Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply