‘Chronicle’ Spells Out TOW’s Win

By Kathleen McKeown, Special to the Independent

Judges Bill Steel and Asst. Supt. Nancy Hubbell with, from left, last year’s champ, Kaden Matheson, and this year’s top two spellers, Makena Augenstein and Shea Skenderian.

Makena Augenstein from Top of the World Elementary out-spelled her competition to win this year’s elementary school spelling championship.

Twenty nine fifth-graders from the district’s two elementary schools competed in the annual  competition, held in the El Morro multipurpose room last Thursday, April 14. Filled with cheering family and friends, much excitement and lots of friendly competition, the final two contestants, Makena Augenstein and Shea Skenderian, both from TOW, were asked to spell, “chronicle”, with Makena  ultimately securing the win by correctly spelling both “chronicle” and “radiance”.

Asst. Supt. Nancy Hubbell and parent Bill Steel served for the fourth time as judges, while PTA co-chairs Carrie Reynolds and Laura Keller enjoyed watching the outcome of their coordinating efforts.

Having left last year’s trophy in the hands of El Morro’s triumphant spelling bee champion Kaden Matheson, TOW staff and students were thrilled to see the trophy return.

“Congratulations to TOW for bringing home the trophy!” Principal Ron LaMotte said in an email. “The final three standing were from TOW. Way to go.

The second two runners up, Shea Skenderian and Larson Mc Carroll, also are TOW students.

TOW’s other finalists included: Krisitn Austin, Sterling Butler, Perry Cheves, Luke Colburn, Michael Davidson, Makenna Gaynor, Sebastian Jacobs, Alden Kramer, Emily Normandin-Parker, Joie Selin, and Nils Wilson.

El Morro finalists included: Sophia Diaz-Anderson, Max Blanchard, Julie Bowman, Bianca Brock, William Cahill, Ariadne Fernandez, Sydney Huang, Calem Lindsey, Jack Loechner, Daniel Nash,  Joey Ravenna, Charlie Rounaghi, Marissa Schatz, Ashlyn Stewart, and Guy Thomas.

Kathleen McKeown is a TOW parent.



About the Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply