DAR Recognizes Graduates

Ricki Scott in this year’s Patriots Day Parade.
Ricki Scott in this year’s Patriots Day Parade.

Jackson McKay Pries is the winner of the DAR American History Scholarship for Laguna Beach High School.

The organization also honored a score of other students at an awards program this past Thursday at at Laguna Presbyterian Church’s Tankersley Hall.

Counselors and teachers selected Jackson for the award because of his passion for American history as well as his intention to serve his community and society in the future.

Jackson, who will enroll in UC Santa Barbara as a history major in the fall, comes from a family that has worked with foster children at Olive Crest and in orphanages in Mexico. “Jackson has always had a heart for helping other people since it’s his father’s job to help others. He has also always loved history and reads books about American presidents like other kids collect sports information.  It’s just natural for him,” says his mother Lynn Pries, an architect.

Rickie Scott in the recipient of the DAR Good Citizen Award, the highest honor that Daughters of the American Revolution gives to high school students. Rickie currently serves as president of the LBHS clubs R.O.C (Righteousness on Campus) and Make A Wish Club, where she spearheaded a $4,000 fundraising effort to grant the wish of a terminally ill teenager. She studied Spanish traveled to Nicaragua and Belize, donating her time to help with children’s charities. “I just want to use my writing and speaking skills to work with cool people and bring positive change in the world,” Rickie says.

DAR awarded excellence in American history awards to fifth grade students. At El Morro recipients were Jack Guenther, Emmalisa Randrup, Eva Becker, Connor Fink, Allison Mays, Gabe Tacklind, Caden Capobianco and Macy Michael; at St. Catherine of Siena Parish School recipients were Andrew Domanskis and Isabella Freeman; and at Top of the World, Jeremy Hayes, Ella Judd, Kayden S. Ibelle, Zachary Pierce, Bryce Dvorak, Claire Wittkop, Sahil Das and Malin Glade.

Good citizenship awards at St. Catherine’s went to Sydney Munushian, Alex Taylor,

Isabella Ciraulo, Trey Taylor, Taylor Campbell and Luke Zettler; and at Thurston Middle School, to Will Clark, Lauren West, Niva Razin, Grant Richardson, Claire Black and Ray Hunter; and at LBHS, London Carter, Eden Young, Leslie Dwight, Matthew Haim, Sarina Strickland and Austin Wilhoft.

Share this:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here