Round Robin Volleyball Tournament

Share this:
Chris Kerfoot & Rick Smith finalists, Chasen LaMarr and Bong Pascua champions
Chris Kerfoot & Rick Smith finalists, Chasen LaMarr and Bong Pascua champions

The Men’s and Women’s 2017 Round Robin Volleyball Tournaments were held at Main Beach Oct. 21 and 22 at Laguna’s Main Beach under perfect skies and conditions. Players competed in the Open or Social divisions in doubles beach volleyball in a round robin format.

This format is unlike other tournaments because you start out playing six games with six different partners, which seeds the top players into further elimination rounds. It’s a very social and demanding format and the players get to meet a lot of new friends as well as play some great and challenging games. The finalists are almost always just about out of gas by the end.

Sponsors for this year’s tournaments were Skyloft, Restaurant & Bar, Tatra Tea, The Inn at Laguna, Mago Hot Sauce, Awards N More, Plastic Clothing (sports and active wear for volleyball lifestyle), and the California Beach Volleyball Association.

Also, without the support and guidance of the City of Laguna Beach, these tournaments wouldn’t be possible.


Women’s Open results:

Adriana Rueda champion, Adriana Pham, Caitlin Halliday, Jill Sweeney finalists
Adriana Rueda champion, Adriana Pham, Caitlin Halliday, Jill Sweeney finalists

Marcela McKibben and Ali Hecht, champions

Jolie Dyl and Jordan Denmark, finalists

Emily Young and Danielle Gallo, 3rd

Susan Postnikoff and Kelsey Mollick, 3rd

Marisa Doran and Lina al Bargash, 5th

Bree Hammel and Wendy Dvorak, 5th

Simone Gibson and Carine Garcia, 5th

Stormy Dvorak and Bethany Protzmann, 5th

Men’s Open results:

Mike Boag, champion

Tom “TK” Kohler, 2nd

Rado Dvorsky and Bobby Jacobs, 3rd

Sean Wahlquist, Ken Ball, Todor Dvorsky, Clark Hubbard, 5th

Men’s Social results:

Bong Pascua and Chasen LaMarr, champions

Chris Kerfoot and Rick Smith, finalists

Patrick Halliday and Peter Walinsky, 3rd

Craig Berquist and Jon Cedeno, 3rd

Shawn Shahi and Brian Bixler, 5th

Will Gutierrez and Carl Meiswinkel, 5th

Fahim Fazli and Adam Kerfoot, 5th

Michael Finn and Mike Langson 5th


Women’s Social results:

Adriana Rueda champion

Adriana Pham, 2nd

Jill Sweeney, 3rd

Caitlin Halliday, 4th

Aria Roller, Juli Evans, Marisol Carl, 5th


Share this:
Firebrand Media LLC wants comments that advance the discussion, and we need your help to accomplish this mission. Debate and disagreement are welcomed on our platforms but do it with respect. We won't censor comments we disagree with. Viewpoints from across the political spectrum are welcome here. While everyone is entitled to their opinion, our community is not obliged to host all comments shared on its website or social media pages, including:
  • Hate speech that is racist, sexist, homophobic, transphobic slurs, or calls for violence against a particular type of person.
  • Obscenity and excessive cursing.
  • Libelous language, whether or not the writer knows what they're saying is false.
We require users to provide their true full name, including first and last names, as a condition for comments. We reserve the right to change this policy based on future developments.

Scroll down to comment on this post.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here