Soul Surf Rides T Street


Under cloudy skies with chilly temperatures, the competition ran in two to three foot surf at San Clemente’s T Street Beach last Saturday, Feb. 28.

The series offers divisions for kids as young as 5 and 6 and several children from Camp Pendleton participated as well.

“These mini-groms were the star of the show and surfed very well,” said Brandon Phillips, of the Laguna Beach-based surf camp, who also expressed appreciation to sponsors and friends for participating and supporting the competition.

The next event takes place April 4 in Oceanside. Registration closes by April 1.

Soul Surf Series Event #5 results:

U7 Microgroms

1          Loyal Kenworthy

2          Petey Romanuik

3          Mia Leish

4          Lenin Ferguson

5          Jett Prefontaine

6          Logan Stevens

U9 Microgroms

1          Hudson Saunders

2          Eli Park

3          Peyton Shaw

4          Charlie Stevens

5          Azure Trujillo

6          Christian Collings

U10 Boys

1          Makai Bray

2          Hendrick Osterkamp

3          Ryder Fish

4          Maddox Bray

5          Jax Hutcheon

6          Ben Brantell

U10 Girls

1          Hannah Dunfee

2          Lauren Anderson

3          Ryan Chalupnik

4          Juliana Romanuik

5          Sierra Downer

6          Rino Nishida

U12 Boys

1          Nico Coli

2          Myles Biggs

3          William Mitchell

4          Cannon Carr

5          Max Morville

6          Tyson Lockhart

U12 Girls

1          Noelle Walker

2          Reese Hartnett

3          Elle Emery

4          Hannah Dunfee

5          Bella Kenworthy

6          Juliana Romanuik

U14 Boys

1          Griffin Foy

2          Trey Lockhart

3          Ryan Martin

4          Keanu Igarashi

5          Miles Biggs

6          Tyson Lockhart

U14 Girls

1          Izzy Hopkins

2          Kelly Smith

3          Kalohe Danbara

4          Hayden Rouse

5          Kennedy Hurley

6          Jayme Linnes

U16 Boys

1          Ryan Martin

2          Griffin Foy

3          David Economos

4          Max Beach

5          Trey Lockhart

6          Bryce Maddox

U16 Girls

1          Kelly Smith

2          Kalohe Danbara

3          Maile Davis

4          Kennedy Hurley

5          Jayme Linnes

6          Izzy Hopkins

U18 Boys

1          David Economos

2          Cameron Griggs

3          Chad Clifton

4          Christian Bowcutt

5          Parker Swoish

6          Nicholas Holdman

Open Women’s/U18 Girls

1          Maile Davis

2          Kalohe Danbara

3          Avery Hurley

4          Kennedy Hurley

5          Noelle Walker

6          Grace Gilles

Open Fish

1          Cody Canzoneri

2          Gavin Haughey

3          Joshua Stiers

4          Noah Albrecht

5          Braden Hotra

6          Jimmy Wynne

Junior Longboard Boys

1          Diesel Rathgeber

2          Jackson Todd

3          Jameson Roller

4          Riley Branom

5          Jimmy Wynne

6          Jack Hansen Garvey

Junior Longboard Girls

1          Izzy Hopkins

2          Alexa Ross

3          Lexi Morgan

4          Cate Stokes

5          Madison Griggs

6          Maile Earlywihe

Open Men’s Longboard

1          Nathan Clifton

2          Jameson Roller

3          Jorge Barba

4          Bryce Maddox

5          Jarrett Reynolds

Open Men’s Shortboard

1          Cody Canzoneri

2          Gavin Doan

3          Cameron Griggs

4          Jeremy Jennings

5          Christian Bowcutt

6          Shane Hardy

Senior Men’s

1          Scott Witmer

2          Jeff Jessee

3          Brent James Jessee

4          Paul Anderson

5          Anthony Roach

6          Matt Dunfee


1          Gavin Haughey

2          Jeff Jessee

3          Brandon Phillips

4          Paul Pence

Firebrand Media LLC wants comments that advance the discussion, and we need your help to accomplish this mission. Debate and disagreement are welcomed on our platforms but do it with respect. We won't censor comments we disagree with. Viewpoints from across the political spectrum are welcome here. While everyone is entitled to their opinion, our community is not obliged to host all comments shared on its website or social media pages, including:

  • Hate speech that is racist, sexist, homophobic, transphobic slurs, or calls for violence against a particular type of person.
  • Obscenity and excessive cursing.
  • Libelous language, whether or not the writer knows what they're saying is false.
We require users to provide their true full name, including first and last names, as a condition for comments. We reserve the right to change this policy based on future developments.

Scroll down to comment on this post.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here