Alliance Names Art Star Award Nominees

Share this:
Carol Reynolds will receive a lifetime achievement award from the Laguna Beach Arts Alliance.
Carol Reynolds will receive a lifetime achievement award from the Laguna Beach Arts Alliance.

resident Carol Reynolds will receive a special lifetime achievement award in recognition of her passion for music and profound impact on the arts community at this year’s Art Star Awards in April, the organizer announced this week.

In addition, organizations, businesses and individuals who have contributed and shaped the arts and culture in Laguna Beach in the last year have been nominated for award in seven categories, which are bestowed by the Laguna Beach Alliance for the Arts.

Award winners will be announced Sunday, April 12, at the performance venue Seven-Degrees. The alliance’s 20-member organizations submit nominees for the awards, chair Wayne Baglin said in a statement.

For consideration as the year’s best arts program are Laguna Outreach for Community Arts’ Art Club, the city’s Sunset Serenades and Music in the Park, and the Thursday Evening series at the Laguna Art Museum.

Individual arts patron of the year nominees include Ruben Flores, Ilona Martin and Patricia O’Brien.

Corporate arts patron nominees include Laguna Playhouse,
The Ritz-Carlton of Laguna Niguel and Ueberroth Family Foundation.

Outstanding nominees in arts collaboration include “Ekphrasis,” cooperatively staged by Laguna Beach Live!, Laguna Art Museum and Laguna Dance Festival; the Rex Brandt Centennial, organized by Laguna College of Art and Design assisted by the Brandt and Hilbert families; “The Sock Thief,” a film and score, created by Laguna College of Art & Design and Laguna Concert Band, respectively.

Arts leader nominees include Fred Sattler, Ann Wareham and Malcolm Warner.

Artist of the year nominees include Carla Meberg,
the team of Gerard Stripling and Michele Taylor, and Terry Thornsley.

Applications are still currently being accepted for the $5,000 Seven-Degrees of Inspiration Grant and available online at The deadline is Feb. 2.

Last year’s grant recipient, sculptor Cheryl Ekstrom, will present her resulting project “Broken/Unbroken/Broken.”

Obtain ticket info through by contacting [email protected]

Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here