2011 Boys Volleyball Awards


 Laguna celebrated the conclusion of the 40th season of boys volleyball with their annual awards banquet held Tuesday, May 31, at the Emerald Bay Clubhouse.

All three teams won their league titles, for varsity, the 25th league crown.

Breakers advanced to the section finals for the 10th time and qualified for the State CIF Regional playoffs, capturing a record third consecutive title. Laguna won 16 of their final 17 matches, losing only to Corona del Mar, the number one team in the U.S., according to ESPN.

Varsity – Coach Lance Stewart (W 23, L 11)

Captains                               Robbie McKnight and Troy Donenfeld

Most improved                 Maxx McCarter

Coach’s Award                  Colin Ceithaml

Rolf Engen Team Player                Alek Burk

Defensive MVP                         Troy Donenfeld

Offensive MVP                 Robbie McKnight

Junior Varsity – Coach Justin Westgaard ( W 13, L 5)

Captains                              Garrett Austin and Grifan Fair

Most improved                 Noah Blanton

Coach’s Award                  Lucas Capobianco

Defensive MVP                  Jakob Hexberg

Offensive MVP                 Jackson Pries

Frosh-Soph – Coach Zak Beard  (W 13, L 6)

Captains                               Armando Barraza and Cameron De Pfyffer

Most improved                 Andrei Kvitsinski

Coach’s Award                  JP Wollam

Defensive MVP                  Zach Bekken

Offensive MVP                 Jack Wyett

Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here