Laguna Beach High School fall sports award winners



The 90th annual Football Awards Banquet was held Wednesday, Dec 13, at the North Gymnasium on the Breaker Campus. 

Laguna Beach High School’s 90th annual Football Awards Banquet took place Dec. 13 at North Gym. Photo/Frank Aronoff

90th Season Team MVP: Ryner Swanson 

Top Offensive Player: Jackson Kollock

Top Defensive Player: Ryner Swanson 

Defensive Lineman: Skyler Schwarm

Offensive Lineman: Leo Adjemian 

Special teams: Nico Vidaurri 

Ironman Award: Charlie Kelly and Nick Rogers

Teammate Award: Kellen Dyer 

ALL Golden West Conference Pac 4 All-League: 

League MVP: Jackson Kollock

Top Offensive Player: Nick Rogers

Top Lineman: Leo Adjemian 

1st team: Ryner Swanson (TE/DE), Skyler Schwarm (OL/DL), Chase Tyson (WR/S), Charlie Kelly (OL), Redmond Chesley (LB). 2nd Team – Wyatt Bogdan (WR/SS) and Jacob Cruz (LB).

Frosh-Soph Team coached by Alex Hutchinson went 10-0, outscoring opponents 467-14, the most dominating lower-level football squad for Laguna in 90 seasons. Award winners: Lineman of the Year – Callen Murray, Co-Offensive Players – Jack Hooper & Brady Stringham; Defensive Player of the Year – Grant Regal, Ironman – Garrett Byerly & Bob Gardner; Teammate – Will Kimball and Team MVP – Jack Hurst 

CROSS COUNTRY (Boys 4th in Wave League, Girls were League Champs, 7th in CIF D-4,  

All Sunset Wave League: 

Boys Cross Country: Theo Drews (2nd team), Zachary Menter (2nd team).

Girls Cross Country: 1st team – Sydney Sidney, Yolo Javier, Kiara Flores, Hayden Joseph. 2nd Team – Karina Pitz, Emily Williams  

Boys Team Awards: 

Most Outstanding Varsity: Theodore Drews

Most Outstanding JV: Thomas Rolfing  

Dave Brobeck Breaker Legacy Award: Maclaren Crane-Henning  

Rookie of the Year: Wade Jurkowski  

Most Improved: Zachary Maes  

Coaches Award: Liam McRae, Enzo Casolari, Mason Bruderer  

Four Year Award: Theodore Drews  

Captains Award: Mack Crane-Henning, Theodore Drews, Reidley Babcock.


All Sunset Wave League: 

2nd team – Kaylyn Stringham  


All Sunset Wave League: 

2nd team: Julianna Franconi-Krychman 

2023 Team Awards 

Team Co-Captains: Summer DiMaggio (Sr) and Luxy Bynum (Sr) MVP – Julianna Franconi-Krychman (Sr).

Most Improved Golfers: Alani Sciacca (Soph) and Spencer Anderson (Soph); Scholar Athletes on the Sunset Conference All-Academic Team = Summer DiMaggio (Sr), Luxy Bynum (Sr), Juianna Franconi-Krychman (Sr), Savannah Wald (Sr), Morgan Hofknecht (Jr), Chiara Berman (Soph), Glory Belland (Soph), Spencer Anderson (Soph), Alani Sciacca (Soph). 


Paul Cuevas completed his first season as head coach with the Breakers, posting an 8-3 Varsity record. Laguna has competed 10 seasons in sand volleyball, boasting a 54-25 all-time team record. 

2023 Team Awards 


Co-MVP: Ryan Loughlin and Kai Patchell

Best Defensive Player: Chase Bryan

Coach’s Award: Parker Gapp 

Junior Varsity 

MVP: Jonah Goldstein

Best Defensive Player: John Tavey

Coach’s Award: James Vermilya 


MVP: Jacob Bystrom

Best Defensive Player: Xanti Gorostegui

Most Improved: Kingston Rubin 

GIRLS TENNIS (20-3) CIF CHAMPS, Wave League Champs 

All Sunset Wave League: 

Singles, 1st Team: Ava Chadha, 2nd Team: Izzy LoBosco,  

Doubles, 1st Team: Rachel MacCallum/Jessica MacCallum, Kendyl Beresford/Ryan Levine  

Team Awards: 

Varsity: MVP – Jessica MacCallum

Most Improved – Ava Chadha

Sportsmanship – Malia Preston. 

Junior Varsity: MVP – Jude Lifeset

Most Improved: Keating Cummings

Sportsmanship: Mia Kramer 

GIRLS VOLLEYBALL (7-21) – 2nd Place Wave League 


1st Team: Kyra Zaengle (JR), Sara Johnson (Sr) 

Team Awards: 

Varsity: MVP – Kyra Zaengle, Most Improved – Morgan Saunders, Best Teammate – Sara Johnson, Coach’s Award – Meg Gardner 

Junior Varsity – Layla Kollock, Most Improved – Ayla McManus, Best Teammate – Zoey Bond 

Frosh-Soph – Offensive MVP – Maia Miller, Defensive MVP – Iliana Reider, Most Improved – Kelsey Dearing, Coach’s award – Marina Villalobos, Chloe Falk 

JV was 2nd in the Wave League, Frosh–Soph were league champs. 

BOYS WATER POLO (18-14) – D1- Finalist 

ALL-Southern Section CIF D-1 

1st Team: Cade Anderton, Diego Audebert

2nd Team: Tyler Swenson, Maxwell Schlaich,  

3rd Team: Dylan Williams, Eli Taub 


1st Team: Cade Anderton, Tyler Swenson

2nd Team: Diego Audebert, Dylan Williams 

Team Awards: 

Varsity: Cade Anderton MVP, Diego Audebert Offensive MVP, Tyler Swenson Defensive MVP, Maxwell Schlaich, John Wooden Award 

Frosh-Soph: Max Jackal MVP, Offensive MVP: Zach Hotnstein and Coleman Foley 

Defensive MVP: Finnegan Leverity, John Wooden Award – Declan Jenal.

Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here