All-Sport Award Winners Named

Share this:


Lance Neal, Laguna Beach High School’s Athletic Director, recently released the 13th Annual All-Sport Award winners. The high school has had an annual award for many of the 85 seasons of athletic competition, with the current program starting in 2007.


Colton Gregory, a swimmer and water polo player, was named Male Athlete of the Year. Photo courtesy of LBHS Athletics.


MaleAthlete of the Year       

Colton Gregory – Water Polo & Swimming

A first team D1 All-CIF and All-OC selection this season for Water Polo, Colton led the Breakers in scoring. On the swim side, Colton was league champion in the 50 free.

Female Athlete of the Year

Claire Kelly, a swimmer and water polo player, is Female Athlete of the Year. Photo courtesy of LBHS Athletics

Claire Kelly – Water Polo & Swimming

Third team D1 All-CIF in Girls Water Polo, Claire was the top field player in steals, scored 24 goals, and dished out 36 assists for the D1 champion Breakers. In swimming, she was the league champion in the 50 free and was also a member of the league champion 200 and 400 free relays that went on to place in the D1 CIF finals.










Coach of the Year  

Coach of the Year is football coach John Shanahan. Photo courtesy of LBHS Athletics.          

John Shanahan, Football

In his third season, John has qualified for the playoffs every season and was 10-3 this past year earning a share of the Golden West Conference Pac 4 League in their first season under the new more competitive league affiliation. At 23-14 all-time, John is already third all-time in career wins as Laguna’s head football coach.

Scholar Athletes – Sebastian Fisher – XCC & Track, Ryan Smithers – XCC & Track, Lola Fisher – Soccer & Softball

Female Athlete of Character– Mia Pitz, Basketball & Softball

Male Athlete of  Character– Will Clark, Water Polo & Swimming



Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here