Spring Sports Update 6/7/13


Boys Golf Awards

Coached Scott Finn recently released the awards earned by Laguna’s boys golf squad, which finished third this season in Orange Coast League play.

Three players earned second team all-OCL honors: Tyler Metez, Spencer Donavan, and Mitchell Wills.

The team awards were as follows:

Varsity Golf: Team captain, Mitchell Wills; most valuable golfer, John Grayden; most improved, Tyler Metez.

JV golf: Team captain, Gavin Blow; persistence, Dylan Kramer; competitor, Max Brown; light hearted, Cody Powell; respectful, Gavin Blow.


Boys Volleyball Awards

Breakers concluded their 42nd season with the annual team banquet held on Thursday, May 30 in the North Gym. Varsity finished the season 19-9 advancing to the quarterfinals for the 33rd time in 40 seasons. JV went 21-1 in matches and 49-3 in overall sets played. Breakers captured the Newport JV tournament. Frosh Soph were 5-10 on the season going 22-29 in sets played.


All-Orange Coast League:

1st Team: Weston Barnes, Griffen Fair, Maxx McCarter

2nd Team: Noah Blanton, Jackson Pries, Jack Wyrtt


Varsity Team Awards:

Coach’s Award:                                    JP Wollam

Most Inspirational:                  Cole Kesler

Most Improved                                    Andrei Kvitsinsky

Offensive MVP:                                    Griffen Fair

Most Valuable Player                  Weston Barnes

Orange County All Stars Selection:                  Weston Barnes


Junior Varsity Team Awards:

Coach’s Award:                                    Cameron dePfyffer

Most Inspirational:                  Troy Thomas

Most Improved                                    Liam Christiansen

Defensive MVP:                                    Adam Lythgoe & Zach Bekken

Offensive MVP:                                    Nick Reickhoff


Frosh-Soph Team Awards:

Coach’s Award:                                    Isaac Wulff

Most Inspirational:                  Teague Vanderbeek & Matt McClements

Most Improved                                    Penn Nielsen

Defensive MVP:                                    Dylan Davis

Offensive MVP:                                    Alez Rounaghi


Boys Tennis

Boys tennis, coached by Don Davis, went 12-10 on the season capturing their sixth straight league title and making their 41st post-season appearance. Team awards are as follows: newcomer award, Ryan Gee; most improved, Tim Nguyen; sportsmanship, Jeff Spitz;
CIF game ball, the doubles team of Alex Duong and Owen Weber; MVP, Teague Hamilton; Breaker award, Morgan Lebby.


Coaches in other sports did not submit team awards. Baseball holds its banquet next week.

Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here